Meet the Curator – Caroline MacCaull

Hello! My name is Caroline MacCaull, I am very honoured to be the guest curator for the 12th edition of Shooting Gallery! I am a queer interdisciplinary artist primarily based in so-called “Vancouver”. My practice blends movement, performance art, video, and technology to explore the intersection of art forms and in-between space of art forms. My work often explores themes on spirituality, reality, perception and dynamic intersections that can exist between virtual and physical realms. I’m deeply passionate about utilizing technology in intentional and thoughtful ways to enrich my work. I believe that technology has the potential to be more than just a flashy accessory; it can be a collaborator, enhancing the depth and impact of the work. 

As an extension of these topics and themes later this month I am very excited to also be speaking on a Panel as part of New Works XR Short Circuit Series on Sunday, March 17 – 11am-12pm at Q7 Studios, Vancouver. For more information on this free event and registration please click here.  

I am also the Associate Artistic Director of Chimerik 似不像, a multi-award-winning interdisciplinary nonprofit organization consisting of artists from underrepresented groups from various age groups, backgrounds, levels of experience, and disciplines. Chimerik 似不像 is very excited to be in partnership with Future Leisure for this edition of Shooting Gallery! As part of my curation I am very excited to see how 5 projects utilize technology to enhance online live performances. The artists presented this year will serve as case studies, documenting their pipelines and tools used, as part of Chimerik’s Virtual Live Art database. 

At Chimerik 似不像 we’ve come to realize a significant gap in the integration of digital technology within live-performance art.  It’s a struggle many of us face, navigating through similar software without adequate documentation, which only perpetuates the inaccessibility of New Media arts. That’s why I’m passionate about bridging this gap with the Virtual Live Art database, making technology more accessible to our community. By spotlighting artists and their contributions, we’re fostering collaboration and community spirit, focusing on the collective rather than the individual. Follow @chimerikco on instagram for updates on this database and an upcoming launch event for it in partnership with New Works.

Throughout watching the processes for these selected artists it has been very inspiring to witness the challenges and successes they have all faced when integrating technology in their projects in a live-online format. It has illuminated questions I have about the integration of technology in this way, how niche this practice still is and the critical moments of “getting it to work” before pivoting in other ways/approaches. I’ve found the creative solutions each artist had in these moments to have encouraged the work to emerge in new and different ways. I’m very excited to see how all of the works land in the coming week. I invite audience members to come in with a sense of curiosity and openness as we explore the brave works these artists have created over the last few months.

Thank you! Can’t wait to have you join us March 4-9! 

Meet the Curator – Caroline MacCaull

Leave a comment